Key Business Lessons

Today I attended a seminar presented by Rich Cantrall titled ‘5 Steps to Super Profits’.   A key lesson from this seminar is the importance of establishing systems for consistency.  This may be obvious, but how many business owners have done this?  I know I needed the reminder. 

Setting up systems to track business activities such as marketing, sales, customer service and billing are essential to good business.  The time is invested once in setting up these systems and the rewards are reaped many times over.  Having logical systems in place helps eliminate chaos and gives me the chance to focus on things that matter like my clients.  Rich made the point that 80% of business is routine.  It makes perfect sense to set up systems for that 80% and have the time to deal with the exceptions making up the 20%.  I can’t think of anyone who has enough time to ignore these systems. 

I was also reminded of the importance of key business indicators.  It is important to rely on these numbers and take ownership of them.  As owner of Champion Assistants, I know it is up to me to demonstrate leadership, accountability and responsibility not just with my team, but with my clients as well.  We small business owners often get consumed by the day-to-day instead of taking a step back and gain an outside perspective.  Having systems in place so that work flows helps us take a step back and focus on the important issues…not just the urgent ones.

 www.championassistants.com

Leave a Reply

