Supporting Your Business Community

As a small business owner, I am active in the small business community where I live – Seattle.  I enjoy learning about the struggles and rewarding experiences other small business owners experience.  We mutually support and encourage each other.  My virtual assistance business is greatly enriched by their input and suggestions, and I love when they are able to use my services.  Just like I enjoy sharing my services with the global community, I am careful to build the trust and respect of my local community as well. 

I was at a luncheon last week where a self-proclaimed marketing guru, who has supposedly helped many earn millions of dollars from self-publishing, said that he loves making money and he never spends it!  I was truly taken aback.  He has no problem charging clients to learn how they, too, may someday become as successful and rich as he is with hardly any effort, but he does not make the effort to support those businesses and individuals who support his bank account.  I feel it’s extremely important to reinvest in the small business community by using their services to benefit your own business.  Also, passing along quality referrals to these businesses is a great way to support each other.  Focusing on how much personal wealth you can achieve without reinvesting seems like an empty achievement to me.  After all, we may each be individuals, but we live in community!

Yours virtually,
Heather Nelson

206.499.9674
www.championassistants.com

Leave a Reply

